Features
Top Ten Books This Week - Feb 12 , 2018
Top fiction and non-fiction works of this week | By Yentha
On Feb 12, 2018

Non-Fiction
------------------


1.David Destefano:Emotional Success: The Motivational Power of Gratitude, Compassion and Pride:Rs 599.00

Kick-start your motivation using gratitude, employ compassion to build your network, and take pride to maximise success. Using cutting-edge research, world-leading psychologist David DeSteno shows you how positive emotions are far more powerful than willpower and self-denial in achieving your goals. Willpower is quickly depleted, but our prosocial emotions become stronger the more we use them. Even better, they’re contagious. · Cultivating gratitude, compassion, and pride leads to better cardiovascular health, immune function and sleep · Students who feel proud of their work will work 40% harder and longer than others · Empathy and compassion are the best predictors of team success Our prosocial emotions evolved specifically to help us resist immediate temptations in favour of long-term gains. But they can also be adapted to strengthen our bonds with our own future selves – who will benefit most from the grit we need to succeed in life.


2.Kevin Allocca:Videocracy: How YouTube Is Changing the World . . . with Double Rainbows, Singing Foxes, and Other Trends We Can’t Stop Watching:Rs 599.00


From YouTube's Head of Culture and Trends, a rousing and illuminating behind-the-scenes exploration of internet video's massive impact on our world.Whether your favorite YouTube video is a cat on a Roomba, "Gangnam Style," the "Bed Intruder" song, an ASAPscience explainer, Rebecca Black's "Friday," or the "Evolution of Dance," Kevin Allocca's Videocracy reveals how these beloved videos and famous trends--and many more--came to be and why they mean more than you might think.YouTube is the biggest pool of cultural data since the beginning of recorded communication, with four hundred hours of video uploaded every minute. It would take you more than sixty-five years just to watch the vlogs, music videos, tutorials, and other content posted in a single day! This activity reflects who we are, in all our glory and ignominy. As Allocca says, if aliens wanted to understand our planet, he'd give them Google. If they wanted to understand us, he'd give them YouTube.In Videocracy, Allocca lays bare what YouTube videos say about our society and how our actions online--watching, sharing, commenting on, and remixing the people and clips that captivate us--are changing the face of entertainment, advertising, politics, and more. Via YouTube, we are fueling social movements, enforcing human rights, and redefining art--a lot more than you'd expect from a bunch of viral clips.

3.Dorie Clark:Reinventing You:Rs 999.00

Are you where you want to be professionally? Whether you want to advance faster at your present company, change jobs or make the jump to a new field entirely, Reinventing You, now in paperback with a new preface, provides a step-by-step guide to help you assess your unique strengths, develop a compelling personal brand and ensure that others recognize the powerful contribution you can make. Branding expert Dorie Clark mixes personal stories with engaging interviews and examples from Mark Zuckerberg, Al Gore, Tim Ferriss, Seth Godin and others to show you how to think big about your professional goals, take control of your career and finally live the life you want.

4.Carl J.Schramm:Burn the Business Plan:What Great Entrepreneurs Really Do:Rs 499.00

How would you like to get business start-up advice straight from the man who co-founded Global Entrepreneurship Week and Start-up America? Well now you can. Carl Schramm, the man described by The Economist as 'the evangelist of Entrepreneurship', has written a myth-busting guide packed with tools and techniques to help you get your big idea off the ground. Carl believes that entrepreneurship has been completely misrepresented by the media, business books, University programmes and MBA courses. He believes that the perception of what it takes to start a business no longer matches the reality - which is bad news for everyone because it stops great ideas coming to life. Burn the Business Plan punctures the myth of the cool, tech-savvy 20-something entrepreneur with nothing to lose and venture capital to burn, showing that most people who start businesses are juggling careers and mortgages just like you. Burn the Business Plan is written to encourage you to get started. It demystifies the entrepreneurial process portrayed on television shows like Dragon's Den. It doesn't rely on largely irrelevant stories of overvalued tech start-ups, nor does it build on the largely mistaken narrative of a linear path from cold start to great success that is the essence of business planning, as taught in universities. This is the guide to starting and running a business that will actually work for the rest of us. Burn the Business Plan is for regular people who just want practical, real-world advice on how to start and run a successful business. It shows you how to avoid the common mistakes and what you need to do to put your enterprise on track for success.

5.Paul Sean Hill:Mission Control Management:The Principles of High Performance and Perfect Decision Making Learned from Leading at NASA:Rs 499.00

Failure is always an option... For more than 50 years, NASA's Mission Control has been known for two things: perfect decision making in extreme situations and producing generations of steely-eyed missile men and women who continue that tradition. A key to that legacy of brilliant performance is a particular brand of leadership, especially at the working level in Mission Control. Take the ultimate insiders look at the leadership values and culture that created the best team on this planet. Paul Sean Hill was responsible for NASA's Mission Operations support for manned space flight from 2007-2011. In this candid book he shows that the secret to Mission Control's success has never been rocket science and that the real practice of perfect decision making can be applied to any organisation or team. By demonstrating how his Mission Control team nurtured a culture which has delivered impossible wins for decades, Hill provides a guide for all leaders to boost their company's performance at all levels. Whether failure means cost and schedule overruns, quality reduction, loss of market share, bankruptcy - or putting someone's life a risk, how we lead can determine whether even small mistakes are dealt with or are left to snowball out of control and destroy an enterprise. Discover how to take leadership from the Mission Control Room to your boardroom and beyond and achieve this out-of-this-world leadership environment in your team.

Fiction
------------

1.Ali Smith:Winter:Rs 599.00

(Winter? Bleak. Frosty wind, earth as iron, water as stone, so the old song goes. The shortest days, the longest nights. The trees are bare and shivering. The summer's leaves? Dead litter. The world shrinks; the sap sinks. But winter makes things visible. And if there's ice, there'll be fire. In Ali Smith's Winter, life-force matches up to the toughest of the seasons. In this second novel in her acclaimed Seasonal cycle, the follow-up to her sensational Autumn, Smith's shape-shifting quartet of novels casts a merry eye over a bleak post-truth era with a story rooted in history, memory and warmth, its taproot deep in the evergreens: art, love, laughter. It's the season that teaches us survival. Here comes Winter.


2.E V Seymour : A Deadly Trade  :Rs 599.00

(This time there are no rules…An unputdownable new thriller from E. V. Seymour, introducing hired assassin Josh Thane, perfect for fans of Lee Child, Mark Dawson and Alan McDermott.One moment of weakness can cost you everything…Rogue assassin Josh Thane is an artist in murder. His next target is a British microbiologist suspected of creating devastating chemical weapons.
Breaking into her house, he discovers someone has beaten him to it – she’s already dead. In a moment of weakness, he saves the life of her son. A single mistake that destroys everything he’s worked for and puts him and the boy in immediate danger…When Josh embarks on an international quest to find the real killer, he uncovers a criminal conspiracy with truly terrifying consequences. Yet it’s in his own past that the darkest truth lies hidden.

3.Matthew Sullivan :Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore :Rs 399.00

(What do you do when the life you’ve carefully built for yourself comes apart?Lydia Smith lives a quiet life, spent in the company of her colleagues and customers at the bookstore where she works. But when Joey Molina, a young and mysterious regular, hangs himself in the bookstore and leaves Lydia secret messages hidden in the pages of his books, her world starts to unravel. Why did Joey do it?What did he know?And what does it have to do with Lydia?

4.Michele Campbell :Its Always the Husband :Rs 399.00

(It’s Always the Husband…unless it’s the best friend.Kate, Aubrey and Jenny are inseparable at college – friends who promised they’d always be there for each other.But twenty years later, their friendship is about to take a deadly turn.
Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door, but when one of the friends dies in shocking circumstances, will everyone assume that it’s always the husband? Or could it be the best friend?
IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND is the gripping debut which will keep you guessing until the very last page.

5.Kimberley Chambers :Life of Crime :Rs 599.00

(Some people are made for a life of crime.Dragged up on a council estate, Jason Rampling was determined to change his lot. Jason’s a chancer, shameless with his good looks and his gift for earning a few quid. Life is easy when the money rolls in.Some people are ruined by it.Melissa thought she’d struck gold marrying Jason. Being on his arm meant she was finally a someone. But there’s no glamour in waiting for your husband to come home, or waiting for a knock on the door. Melissa made her bed the day she made her vows – will she lie in it without a fight?Some would kill for it.After a stretch inside Jason wants to pull off just one last job, the biggest of all, it could solve all of their problems. But this is a game that could cost them everything . . .

 
 
Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
 
News Features Columns