Features
Top Ten Books This Week - February 6, 2017
Top fiction and non-fiction works of this week | By Yentha
On Feb 06, 2017

Non- Fiction
-------------------

1.Klaus Schwab:The Fourth Industrial Revolution:Rs 699.00

We are on the brink of the Fourth Industrial Revolution. And this one will be unlike any other in human history.Characterized by new technologies fusing the physical, digital and biological worlds, the Fourth Industrial Revolution will impact all disciplines, economies and industries - and it will do so at an unprecedented rate. World Economic Forum data predicts that by 2025 we will see: commercial use of nanomaterials 200 times stronger than steel and a million times thinner than human hair; the first transplant of a 3D-printed liver; 10% of all cars on US roads being driverless; and much more besides.In the Fourth Industrial Revolution, Schwab outlines the key technologies driving this revolution, discusses the major impacts on governments, businesses, civil society and individuals and offers bold ideas for what can be done to shape a better future for all.

2.Daniel Levin:Nothing But a Circus:Misadventures Among the Powerful:Rs 699.00

In this eye-opening exploration of the human weaknesses for power, Daniel Levin takes us on a hilarious journey through the absurd world of our global elites, drawing unforgettable sketches of some of the puppets who stand guard and the jugglers and conjurers employed within. Most spectacular of all, however, are the astonishing contortions performed by those closest to the top in order to maintain the illusion of integrity, decency and public service. Based on the author's first hand experiences of dealing with governments and political institutions around the world, Nothing but a Circus offers a rare glimpse of the conversations that happen behind closed doors, observing the appalling lengths that people go to in order to justify their unscrupulous choices, from Dubai to Luanda, Moscow to Beijing and at the heart of the UN and the US government.

3. Rina Mae Acosta:The Happiest Kids in the World: Bringing up Children the Dutch Way:Rs 699.00

Why do:
· Dutch babies seem so content, and sleep so well?
· Dutch parents let their kids play outside on their own?
· The Dutch trust their children to bike to school?
· Dutch schools not set homework for the under-tens?
· Dutch teenagers not rebel?
· What is the secret of bringing up the happiest kids in the world? 

In a recent UNICEF study of child well-being, Dutch children came out on top as the happiest all-round. Rina Mae Acosta and Michele Hutchison, both married to Dutchmen and bringing up their kids in Holland, examine the unique environment that enables the Dutch to turn out such contented, well-adjusted and healthy babies, children and teens. 
Read this book if you want to find out what lessons you can learn from Dutch parents, to ensure your kids turn out happy!

4.Neil Pasricha:The Happiness Equation:What Nothing+Do anything=Have Everything:Rs 499.00

What’s the formula for a happy life? Neil Pasricha is a Harvard MBA, a Walmart executive, a New York Times–bestselling author and a husband and dad. After selling more than a million copies of his Book of Awesome series, he now shifts his focus from observation to application.In The Happiness Equation, Pasricha illustrates how to want nothing, do anything and have everything. If that sounds like a contradiction, you simply haven’t unlocked the 9 Secrets to Happiness.
Each secret takes a common ideal, flips it on its head and casts it in a completely new light. Pasricha then goes a step further by providing step-by-step guidelines and hand-drawn scribbles that illustrate exactly how to apply each secret to live a happier life today.Controversial? Maybe. Counterintuitive? Definitely.

5.Amartya Sen:Collective Choice and Social Welfare Expanded Edition:Rs 599.00

Can the values which individual members of society attach to different alternatives be aggregated into values for society as a whole, in a way that is both fair and theoretically sound? Is the majority principle a workable rule for making decisions? How should income inequality be measured? When and how can we compare the distribution of welfare in different societies?' So reads the 1998 Nobel citation by the Swedish Academy, acknowledging Amartya Sen's important contributions in welfare economics and particularly his work in Collective Choice and Social Welfare.Originally published in 1970, this classic study has been recognized for its ground-breaking role in integrating economics and ethics and for its influence in opening up new areas of research in social choice. This expanded edition preserves the text of the original while presenting eleven new chapters of fresh arguments and results. Both the new and original chapters alternate between non-mathematical treatments of Sen's subjects accessible to all and mathematical arguments and proofs. A new introduction gives a far-reaching, up-to-date overview of the subject of social choice.
Fiction
------------

1.Jojo Moyes:Paris for One and Other Stories:Rs 599.00

From provincial Sophie being swept off of her feet in the glamour of belle époque Paris to Beth's unexpected confrontation with an old lover in a marquee in Britain, this first collection of short stories from internationally bestselling author Jojo Moyes contains eleven tales of love, loss, liberation and laughter. Paris For One and Other Stories is ideal for fans of Me Before You and After You as well as being the perfect gift this Christmas.

2.Ali Land:Good Me Bad Me:Rs 599.00

New Name. New Family. Shiny. New. Me'.Annie's mother is a serial killer. 
The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police. But out of sight is not out of mind. The secrets of her past won't let her sleep, even with a new family and name - Milly. A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be. But Milly's mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water . . . She is, after all, her mother's daughter.

3.E.O.Chirovici:The Book of Mirrors:Rs 599.00

One man's truth is another man's lie.When big-shot literary agent Peter Katz receives an unfinished manuscript entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued. 
The author, Richard Flynn is writing a memoir about his time at Princeton in the late 80s, documenting his relationship with the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. 
One night in 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home and the case was never solved. Peter Katz is hell-bent on getting to the bottom of what happened that night twenty-five years ago and is convinced the full manuscript will reveal who committed the violent crime.But other people’s recollections are dangerous weapons to play with and this might be one memory that is best kept buried.

4.Yaa Gyasi:Homegoing:Rs 599.00

Effia and Esi: two sisters with two very different destinies. One sold into slavery; one a slave trader's wife. The consequences of their fate reverberate through the generations that follow. Taking us from the Gold Coast of Africa to the cotton-picking plantations of Mississippi; from the missionary schools of Ghana to the dive bars of Harlem, spanning three continents and seven generations, Yaa Gyasi has written a miraculous novel - the intimate, gripping story of a brilliantly vivid cast of characters and through their lives the very story of America itself.Epic in its canvas and intimate in its portraits, Homegoing is a searing and profound debut from a masterly new writer.

5.Ruth Ware:The Woman in Cabin 10:Rs 399.00

This was meant to be the perfect trip. the Northern Lights. A luxury press launch on a boutique cruise ship.A chance for travel journalist Lo Blacklock to recover from a traumatic break-in that has left her on the verge of collapse.Except things don't go as planned.Woken in the night by screams, Lo rushes to her window to see a body thrown overboard from the next door cabin. But the records show that no-one ever checked into that cabin and no passengers are missing from the boat.Exhausted and emotional, Lo has to face the fact that she may have made a mistake – either that or she is now trapped on a boat with a murderer...
 
 
Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
 
News Features Columns