Features
Top Ten Books This Week - January 16, 2017
Top fiction and non-fiction works of this week | By Yentha
On Jan 16, 2017

 

Non-Fiction
------------------

1.Karan Johar: An Unsuitable Boy:Rs 699.00

Karan Johar opens up like never before. The book is an honest, heart-warming and personal account of Karan Johar's life and the business of Bollywood. KJo has been a much-loved film director, producer, actor, and discoverer of new talent.

2.Sheryl O'Loughlin:Killing It: An Entrepreneur's Guide to Keeping Your Head Without Losing Your Heart:Rs 799.00

The former CEO of Cliff Bar, Cofounder of Plum and serial entrepreneur offers insights about launching and growing a business while maintaining a fulfilled life in this practical guide filled with hard-won advice culled from the author’s own sometimes dark, raw experiences.Aspiring entrepreneurs are told that to launch a business, you must go all in, devoting every resource and moment to making it work. But following this advice comes at an enormous personal cost: divorce, addiction, even suicide. It means sacrificing the intangibles that make life worth living.Sheryl O’Loughlin knows there is a better way. In Killing It, she shares the wisdom she’s gained from her successful experiences launching a company from the ground up (Plum), running two fast-growing companies (Clif Bar and REBBL) and mentoring aspiring entrepreneurs (Stanford University). She tells it like it is: If you don’t invest in your wellbeing, your business will not succeed, nor will you.
Sheryl knows first-hand the difficulty of balancing the needs of her growing family with her physical and mental health, while managing other work and life challenges. In this warm, honest and wise handbook, she gives you the essentials for killing it in business—without killing the rest of your life.Filled with real-life examples and anecdotes, Killing It addresses common questions including:
• How do you prepare your significant other for your business venture?
• How do you time launching and growing your business with the ebb and flow of family life?
• How do you find joy in the day-to-day?
• How do you maintain meaningful, supportive friendships?
• How do you walk away and start again?
The ultimate life and business course, Killing It gives entrepreneurs the tools they need to start their enterprise and thrive—both in the office and at home.

3.Dan Roam:Draw to Win:A crash Course on How to Lead,sell and innovate with your visual  mind :Rs 499.00

Since his first book, the Back of the Napkin, Roam has argued that imagery is the most powerful tool for leadership, innovation, and sales. Even though we live in an era of big data, one great picture is worth a million numbers (not to mention a thousand words). A clever idea, visually expressed, can resonate with everyone from the CEO down to the newest intern. The best news is that you don't need to be an artist to create attention-grabbing images. Roam can teach anyone with a pen and paper to translate business ideas into engaging and clear images. He identifies the types of pictures that work best in various settings and shares the basic shapes that all business pictures can be built from. This is an indispensable handbook for business leaders struggling to communicate more effectively in a world that everyday becomes less verbal and more visual.

4.M J Ryan:Habit Changers:81 Game-Changing Mantras to Mindfully realize your goals:Rs 499.00

A compilation of the 81 one-line "game changers," or slogans, that have delivered lasting change among Ryan's highest performing clients. Designed to be easily digested and immediately actionable, each game changer occupies a two-page spread, with the slogan itself on the left and a page of text on the right with a brief explanation and anecdote explaining how to put it into practice. Organized into thematic chapters such as stress, focus, patience, risk-taking, and resilience, the book includes such insights as "people do what people always do," "don't push buttons that don't need to be pushed," "you can't say yes if you can't say no," and more.

5.Kiran Karnik:Crooked Minds:Creating An Innovative Society:Rs 395.00

Innovation is now a key goal for organizations and governments, a sure recipe for growth, success and often, survival. But what is innovation? Is it the same as improvisation? And how does jugaad fit into the definition of innovation? Innovation ranges from invention based on cutting-edge technological research to the makeshift jugaad vehicle; from new products to improvisations in music. It has different facets, depending upon one’s perspective, rather like the fable of the five blind men and the elephant, each of whom draws his own conclusion depending upon the part of the elephant he touches. This book looks at the idea of innovation, its relevance for companies in today’s day and age, whether innovation leads to concrete benefits or not and why it is necessary for organizations, governments and even individuals to constantly innovate.

Fiction
-------------

1.James Rollins:The Seventh Plague:Rs 499.00

A British archaeologist—a member of an expedition gone missing for over two years—stumbles out of the Egyptian desert. Before he can explain what happened to his team, he dies. But his remains hold a terrifying discovery that only deepens the mystery: something had begun mummifying his body while he was still alive.Summoned by a former ally at the British Museum, Commander Grayson Pierce of Sigma Force must uncover the truth behind the brutal murder and discover the fate of the missing team. The first clues are tied to a shocking historical mystery, one connecting the travels of Mark Twain, the genius of Nikola Tesla and the journeys of famous explorer, Henry Morgan Stanley. The frantic hunt for the truth will take Sigma Force from an ancient tomb buriedunder the burning sands of Egypt to a modern engineering complex built atop the frozen fields of the Arctic.As a looming crisis grows, Gray Pierce and his allies must confront a threat born of the ancient past and made real by the latest science, a danger that will unleash a cascading series of plagues around the globe, culminating in a scourge that could kill all of the world’s children . . . and forever end mankind’s future.

2.Camilla Lackberg:The Ice Child:Rs 399.00

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.January, Fjällbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn’t manage to stop.
By the time Detective Patrik Hedström receives word of the accident, the girl has already been identified. Four months ago she disappeared on her way home from the local riding school, and no one has seen her since. It quickly becomes clear that she has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment. And it’s likely she’s not the only one.Meanwhile, Patrik’s wife, crime writer Erica Falck, is looking into an old case – a family tragedy that led to a man’s death. His wife was convicted of murder, but Erica senses that something isn’t right. What is the woman hiding? As Erica digs deeper, the past starts to cast a shadow over the present and Patrik is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

3.Paul Finch:Strangers:Rs 350.00

Dark, gritty and always edge-of-your-seat: The #1 bestseller is back with a standout new heroine…Unknown, alone and fearing for your life. As PC Lucy Clayburn is about to find out, going undercover is the most dangerous work there is. But, on the trail of a prolific female serial killer, there's no other option – and these murders are as brutal as they come. Lucy must step into the line of fire – a stranger in a criminal underworld that butchers anyone who crosses the line. And, unknown to Lucy, she's already treading it…Always gripping. Always gruesome. Paul Finch will leave fans of Rachel Abbott and MJ Arlidge gasping for more.

4.David Young:Stasi Child:Rs 399.00

East Berlin, 1975 When Oberleutnant Karin Muller is called to investigate a teenage girl's body at the foot of the Wall, she imagines she's seen it all before. But when she arrives she realises this is a death like no other. It seems the girl was trying to escape - but from the West. Muller is a member of the People's Police, but in East Germany her power only stretches so far. The Stasi want her to discover the identity of the girl, but assure her the case is otherwise closed - and strongly discourage her from asking questions. The evidence doesn't add up, and it soon becomes clear the crime scene has been staged. But this is not a regime that tolerates a curious mind, and Muller doesn't realise that the trail she's following will lead her dangerously close to home ...Stasi Child is David Young's brilliant and page-turning debut novel.

5.Lindsey Kelk: We were on a Break:Rs 350.00

Is it a break? Or is it a blip?‘You’ve just had a holiday,’ I pointed out, trying not to yawn. ‘Wasn’t that enough of a break?’‘I don’t mean that kind of break.’There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out.Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug.But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?

 
 
Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
 
News Features Columns