Features
Top Ten Books This Week - May 02, 2016
Top fiction and non-fiction works of this week | By Yentha
On May 02, 2016

 

Non Fiction
------------------
1.Thomas Piketty :Chronicles :On Our Troubled Times :Rs 699.00


With the same powerful evidence, and range of reference, as his global bestseller Capital in the Twenty-First Century - and in columns of 700 words, rather than 700 pages - Chronicles sets out Thomas Piketty's analysis of the financial crisis, what has happened since and where we should go from here. Tackling a wider range of subjects than in Capital, from productivity in Britain to Barack Obama, it comprises the very best of his writing for Liberation from the past ten years. Now, translated into English for the first time, it will further cement Piketty's reputation as the world's leading thinker today.

2.Martin Lindstrom :Small Data :The Tiny Clues That Uncover Huge Trends :Rs 399.00

Martin Lindstrom, a modern-day Sherlock Holmes, harnesses the power of “small data” in his quest to discover the next big thing. Hired by the world's leading brands to find out what makes their customers tick, Martin Lindstrom spends 300 nights a year in strangers’ homes, carefully observing every detail in order to uncover their hidden desires, and, ultimately, the clues to a multi-million dollar product. Lindstrom connects the dots in this globetrotting narrative that will enthrall enterprising marketers, as well as anyone with a curiosity about the endless variations of human behavior. You’ll learn…

• How a noise reduction headset at 35,000 feet led to the creation of Pepsi’s new trademarked signature sound.
• How a worn down sneaker discovered in the home of an 11-year-old German boy led to LEGO’s incredible turnaround.
• How a magnet found on a fridge in Siberia resulted in a U.S. supermarket revolution.
• How a toy stuffed bear in a girl’s bedroom helped revolutionize a fashion retailer’s 1,000 stores in 20 different countries.
• How an ordinary bracelet helped Jenny Craig increase customer loyalty by 159% in less than a year.
• How the ergonomic layout of a car dashboard led to the redesign of the Roomba vacuum.

3.Matthew Syed :Black Box Thinking :Marginal Gains and the Secrets of High Performance :Rs 399.00

What links the Mercedes Formula One team with Google? What links Dave Braisford's Team Sky and the aviation industry? What is the connection between the inventor James Dyson and the footballer David Beckham? They are all Black Box Thinkers. Whether developing a new product, honing a core skill or just trying to get a critical decision right, Black Box Thinkers aren't afraid to face up to mistakes. In fact, they see failure as the very best way to learn. Rather than denying their mistakes, blaming others or attempting to spin their way out of trouble, these institutions and individuals interrogate errors as part of their future strategy for success. How many of us, hand on heart, can say that we have such a healthy relationship with failure? Learning from failure has the status of a cliché, but this book reveals the astonishing story behind the most powerful method of learning known to mankind and reveals the arsenal of techniques wielded by some of the world's most innovative organizations. Their lessons can be applied across every field - from sport to education, from business to health. Using gripping case studies, exclusive interviews and really practical takeaways, Matthew Syed - the award-winning journalist and best-selling author of Bounce – explains how to turn failure into success and shows us how we can all become better Black Box Thinkers.

4.Randy Gage :Mad Genius :A Manifesto for Entrepreneurs :Rs 599.00

Create your next breakthrough. Mad Genius is a unique book for entrepreneurs--and for employees who want to think like entrepreneurs. It will help you unleash the innate creative genius inside you. Every industry has its sacred cows and accepted practices. These are often based upon foundational premises that are no longer valid--if they ever were. There's a reason Facebook was birthed in a dorm room, Amazon.com came from people not in the bookstore business, and UBER was created by people who weren't from the taxi industry.  Innovation, discovery, and creating disruption require blowing up conventional thinking and unleashing your entrepreneurial brilliance. Mad Genius is a fire hose of creative stimulation that will spark breakthrough ideas and show you how to nurture them. Get ready to think different.
 
5.Steve Case :The Third Wave :An Entrepreneur's Vision of the Future  :Rs 499.00


In The Third Wave, which pays homage to the work of the futurist Alvin Toffler (from whom Case has borrowed the title and whose work inspired him as a young man), Case takes us behind the scenes of some of the most consequential and riveting business decisions of our time while offering illuminating insights from decades of working as an entrepreneur, an investor, a philanthropist and an advocate for sensible bipartisan policies. We are entering, as Case explains, a new paradigm called the “Third Wave” of the Internet. The first wave saw AOL and other companies lay the foundation for consumers to connect to the Internet. The second wave saw companies like Google and Facebook build on top of the Internet to create search and social networking capabilities, while apps like Snapchat and Instagram leverage the smartphone revolution. Now, Case argues, we’re entering the Third Wave: a period in which entrepreneurs will vastly transform major “real world” sectors like health, education, transportation, energy and food and in the process change the way we live our daily lives. But success in the Third Wave will require a different skill set and Case outlines the path forward. The Third Wave is part memoir, part manifesto and part playbook for the future. With passion and clarity, Case explains the ways in which newly emerging technology companies (a growing number of which, he argues, will not be based in Silicon Valley) will have to rethink their relationships with customers, with competitors and with governments; and offers advice for how entrepreneurs can make winning business decisions and strategies and how all of us can make sense of this changing digital age.
Fiction
-----------
1.Fredrik Backman :My Grandmother Sends Her Regard and Apologises :Rs 399.00


A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette Heart-breaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does. Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway. As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own.

2.Chris Cleave :Everyone Brave Is Forgiven :Rs 399.00


The breath-taking new novel from the multi-award-winning author of The Other Hand. When war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office and signs up. Tom Shaw decides to give it a miss - until his flatmate Alistair unexpectedly enlists and the conflict can no longer be avoided. Young, bright and brave, Mary is certain she'd be a marvellous spy. When she is – bewilderingly - made a teacher, she instead finds herself defying prejudice to protect the children her country would rather forget. Tom, meanwhile, finds that he will do anything for Mary. And when Mary and Alistair meet, it is love, as well as war, that will test them in ways they could not have imagined, entangling three lives in violence and passion, friendship and deception, inexorably shaping their hopes and dreams. In a powerful combination of both humour and heartbreak, this dazzling novel weaves little-known history and a perfect love story, through the vast sweep of the Second World War - daring us to understand that, against the great theatre of world events, it is the intimate losses, the small battles, the daily human triumphs, that change us most.

3.Kazuo Ishiguro :The Buried Giant :Rs 499.00

The extraordinary new novel from the author of Never Let Me Go and the Booker Prize winning The Remains of the Day. The Romans have long since departed and Britain is steadily declining into ruin. But at least the wars that once ravaged the country have ceased. The Buried Giant begins as a couple, Axl and Beatrice, set off across a troubled land of mist and rain in the hope of finding a son they have not seen for years. They expect to face many hazards - some strange and other-worldly - but they cannot yet foresee how their journey will reveal to them dark and forgotten corners of their love for one another. Sometimes savage, often intensely moving, Kazuo Ishiguro's first novel in a decade is about lost memories, love, revenge and war.

4.Shobha Rao :An Unrestored Woman  and Other Stories :Rs 399.00

In an Unrestored Woman, the partition of India and Pakistan in 1947 cuts a jagged path through the lives of ordinary women and men, leaving ripples of sorrow through time and space. Each couplet of stories spans the Indian subcontinent, from refugee camps and torched trains to the spacious verandas of the British Raj and billows into the wider world. An old woman recounts the murdering of what was most precious to her and the many small cuts that led her to that act. A girl forced into prostitution wields patience as deftly as a weapon and manages to escape her fate. An Indian servant falls in love with his employer and spins a twisted web of deceit. The characters in these fearless stories stumble - occasionally towards love, more often towards survival - and find that history, above all, is their truest and greatest opponent. And what emerges, in the midst of newly erected barriers, boundaries and nations, is a journey into the centre of the only place that matters - the human heart.

5.Priyanka :Hedon :Rs 299.00

Tara Mullick falls in love with Jay Dhillon at first encounter. Her pull toward the older, brilliant billionaire is an unyielding force that carries her through Catholic school in Kolkata to four years of recklessness at college in the American Midwest. Things come to a head upon Tara’s return to India. She comes face-to-face with the socially oppressive realities of her world, and then, six years after their initial meeting—with Jay himself. Edgy and compelling, Hedon is a stunning debut novel that explores the vagaries of love and heartache, and what it means to not know where you belong.

Last Week's Top Ten Books - http://yentha.com/news/view/features/top-ten-books-this-week-apr-25-2016


If you want to browse these books, then Modern Book Centre, Trivandrum is the place to be.

 http://twitter.com/modernbookcentr

 http://www.facebook.com/modernbookcentre

 
 
Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
 
News Features Columns